Podiatry Billing Services: Compare Fees, Software, and Fit
Sources checked October 5, 2026. The company links on this page are unpaid. How we make money.
A podiatry billing service handles jobs such as claims submission, denial follow-up, and patient statements. The contract decides which jobs it takes over.
Three of the nine companies below publish percentage ranges: ADS lists 3% to 6% for its general billing service; AdvancedMD and Medi Billing list 4% to 8%. The other six did not publish a recurring rate on the pages we read. Your practice needs a written quote.
The percentage is only part of the deal. Three more things decide whether it works: who assigns the codes, whether you keep your software, and how you get out.
This page helps you check all three. Nine companies side by side. A calculator for your quotes. And seven questions to ask before you sign.
Compare podiatry billing companies
Or jump to the quote calculator, the 7 questions, or the proposal request you can copy.
Podiatry billing companies compared
Listed A to Z. This is what each company says about itself. We did not test their work. "Not stated" means we did not find it on the page we read. Ask for it in writing.
| Company | Your software | Published fee | Contract | Podiatry details it gives |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ADS (MedicsRCM) | Billing runs on ADS's MedicsPremier platform, with data conversion. ADS also says an existing EHR can connect; confirm your exact product. | General billing range: 3–6% of collections. Its podiatry quote depends on volume. Minimum not stated. | Not stated | Says it bills wound care alongside routine visits and procedures. Also sells a podiatry EHR. Podiatry, billing pricing and software |
| AdvancedMD (managed billing) | AdvancedMD software access is included. Confirm which products and add-ons are in your quote and whether another EHR can stay. | Typical range: 4–8% of practice collections. Exact quote on request. Minimum not stated. | Advertises no long-term agreements. Notice period, renewal, and exit fees not stated. | A general billing service, not podiatry-only. Also offers podiatry software. Pricing, service and contract claim, podiatry software |
| Beacon Podiatric Billing | Says it works directly in your existing software. Names ModMed, NextGen, eClinicalWorks, and other systems. | Recurring rate and monthly minimum not stated. | Not stated | Podiatry-only focus. Checks completed claims, handles denials and appeals, and supplies monthly reports. Confirm who assigns initial codes. Source |
| Healthcare Revenue Group (HRG) | Says it works inside your existing EHR and payer portals. Names eClinicalWorks, NextGen, ModMed, and TRAKnet. Confirm your exact product. | Recurring rate and monthly minimum not stated. | Not stated | Describes DME, orthotics, diabetic footwear, surgery, and wound-care billing. Explicitly says it consults on coding but does not perform your coding. Source |
| Medi Billing | Says it works with ModMed, DrChrono, and Athena. | 4–8% of collections, based on volume. Says no upfront fees. Minimum not stated. | Says no long-term contracts. Notice period not stated. | Mentions Q modifiers, orthotics, diabetic shoes, and surgery follow-up periods. Source |
| ModMed RCM Services | Runs inside ModMed's own practice management system and EHR. | An add-on to its software. ModMed's podiatry page says "additional charges apply." No recurring rate published. | Not stated | Sells a podiatry-specific EHR. Says its billing team includes certified coders. Confirm whether initial chart coding is included. Podiatry, billing service |
| NextGen Office RCM | Integrated with NextGen Office EHR and practice management. Confirm migration requirements. | Custom proposal; recurring rate and monthly minimum not stated. | Not stated | Its podiatry page describes specialty denial-management support. Office RCM lists claims corrections, appeals, and follow-up on unpaid claims. Confirm who assigns initial codes. Service, podiatry |
| OmniMD | Says it works with its own podiatry EHR, TRAKnet, ModMed's podiatry EHR, PodiatryMate, and other systems. | Custom quote. Setup and migration inclusion depends on the plan. Minimum not stated. | General pricing page offers monthly or annual plans, with annual discounts. Confirm which terms apply to the billing service. | Names the Q7, Q8, and Q9 modifiers, nail codes 11720 and 11721, and diabetic shoe codes. Podiatry, pricing, terms |
| Practolytics | Says it integrates with existing EHRs; its FAQ identifies AdvancedMD as its practice management system. Confirm whether your current billing system can stay. | Advertises $0 setup fees. Recurring rate and monthly minimum not stated. | Podiatry billing term and cancellation rules not stated. | Describes coding from medical records, plus foot care, orthotics, DME, and surgery billing. Confirm chart coding is included in your quote. Podiatry, FAQ |
How we picked these nine. Each has its own public service information with enough detail to describe the offer. We included specialty services and broader billing platforms with podiatry support. We wanted a mix: companies that work in your software, and companies that bring their own. This is not a ranking, and it is not every company out there. A company that is missing is not a bad company.
A word on the big promises. ADS says "up to 20% more revenue in 90 days, guaranteed." Medi Billing says it can raise collections by up to 35%. OmniMD says it overturns 87% of denials. Practolytics advertises a 98% claims approval rate. These are company claims that we have not independently verified. They do not give you a consistent basis for comparison. Ask what the metric means, which practices it covers, over what period, and whether it measures accepted claims or money collected.
Ready to look closer? These go straight to each company's own page.
See AdvancedMD's billing pricing
See HRG's podiatry billing service
See Medi Billing's podiatry page
See NextGen Office's billing service
See Practolytics' podiatry page
Before you call, grab the 7 questions. They give you something concrete to compare beyond a sales promise.
Which kind of service fits your practice?
Start with your software. It cuts the list fastest.
You want to keep your EHR and billing system. Look at Beacon, HRG, Medi Billing, and OmniMD. All four say they work with outside systems. Ask one thing first: "Have you worked in our exact EHR and billing product? For how many podiatry offices?"
You are open to one company for software and billing. Look at ADS, AdvancedMD, ModMed, and NextGen Office. Ask which system changes and what data moves. ADS also offers an interface to an existing EHR. Ask whether you can keep the software if you later change billers, and what your software price becomes.
You need someone to assign codes from your notes. Practolytics explicitly offers that service. Confirm it is in your proposal, and ask whether its AdvancedMD billing workflow means changing your practice management system. HRG explicitly leaves code assignment with the practice.
You already use ModMed. ModMed's own billing service is an add-on that costs extra. Compare its quote with an outside biller that says it works in ModMed. Medi Billing and OmniMD both say they do.
You are on TRAKnet or SammyEHR. ModMed bought SammyEHR in 2020 and TRAKnet in 2021. That history does not tell you whether your product is being retired now. If you are thinking about a move, ADS says it gives a discount to offices leaving a podiatry system that is being retired. It does not name the system or discount, so ask.
You want a biller that only does podiatry. Beacon says podiatry is all it does. That is a good reason to call. It is not proof. Use the 7 questions on them too.
You are not sure you should outsource at all. Fair. In a February 2026 discussion in PM News, a podiatrist asked for billing company recommendations, emphasizing denial follow-up and communication. Biller Kristin Happel suggested first considering an in-house biller with podiatry experience. She also pointed to mistakes that can start in the practice. That is a useful question to investigate, not evidence that in-house billing always wins.
So check where your denials come from. If the notes are missing details or the wrong codes go in at your desk, make that part of the fix. A billing company may help with checks and queries; your practice still has to supply accurate records. If your team can do the work and the software is the pain, that is a software choice, not a billing-company choice.
See what to check when billing stays in-house
How much do podiatry billing services cost?
There is no single price. Here is what is public:
- AdvancedMD lists a typical range of 4% to 8% of practice collections.
- Medi Billing lists 4% to 8% of collections, based on your volume.
- ADS gives a general billing range of 3% to 6% of collections. Its podiatry page says pricing depends on volume and offers a free review for a quote.
- Practolytics advertises $0 setup fees, but does not publish its recurring rate or monthly minimum.
- A 2024 article in Podiatry Management, a trade magazine, said billing companies generally take 6% to 9%. It also discussed setup charges. That is historical commentary, not a current vendor quote.
Today's advertised percentage ranges above span 3% to 8%. They cover different services and are not a podiatry market average. None is a binding quote for your practice.
Now the part that matters more. Three things change what you really pay.
1. What the percentage applies to. Your practice may also collect money at the front desk. Copays. Cash visits for nail care Medicare does not cover. Orthotics. Ask whether the percentage applies to all collections, insurance payments only, or another defined base. Same percentage, very different bill.
2. The monthly minimum. This sets a floor under the base billing fee, before required add-ons. In a slow month, the minimum can cost more than the percentage. Confirm that your proposal uses it as a floor rather than a separate added charge.
3. Extra fees. Setup. Required software. Clearinghouse fees. Patient statements. Cleaning up old unpaid claims.
A lower percentage can cost more
Here is an example with made-up quotes. They are not from any company on this page.
Say you collect $40,000 a month: $30,000 from insurers and $10,000 from patients.
| Quote A | Quote B | Quote C | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Quoted percentage | 4% | 5% | 6% |
| Applies to | Everything ($40,000) | Everything ($40,000) | Insurance only ($30,000) |
| Percentage charge | $1,600 | $2,000 | $1,800 |
| Monthly minimum | $2,000 | None | None |
| Required software, per month | $300 | $0 | $0 |
| One-time setup fee | $1,200 | $0 | $0 |
| Monthly cost | $2,300 | $2,000 | $1,800 |
| First-year cost | $28,800 | $24,000 | $21,600 |
| Share of all you collect | 5.75% | 5.00% | 4.50% |
These quotes use a minimum as a floor: take the larger of the percentage charge and the minimum, then add the monthly extras. First-year cost assumes the same collections and fees for all 12 months, plus the setup fee. It excludes any charge not entered, such as separate old-claim recovery or exit fees. It does not measure the quality of the work or any change in collections.
The 4% quote is the most expensive. Its minimum and software fee push it to $2,300 a month.
The 6% quote is the cheapest. It only charges on the $30,000 from insurers.
That is why you can't pick by the percentage alone.
Run your own quotes
Type in the numbers from your proposals. It starts with the example above, so you can check the math. The calculator runs in your browser and does not store or send your entries. Use practice totals, not patient information.
Podiatry billing quote calculator
Type in the numbers from up to three quotes. The math updates as you type. This calculator does not store or send your entries.
| Quote | Percentage charge | Monthly cost | Share of all you collect | First-year cost |
|---|
This is arithmetic on the numbers you typed. It is not a quote, and it does not say which company does better work. A fee you left blank is unknown, not free. For a flat monthly fee, enter 0 as the percentage and put the flat fee in the monthly minimum box.
This assumes the company charges the higher of its percentage fee and its monthly minimum, then adds the required monthly fees. First-year cost repeats the same month 12 times and adds one setup fee. Amounts are rounded to cents. One-off old-A/R, cancellation, and other conditional charges are outside this estimate. Compare the same scope of work in every quote.
The two supported fee bases are all collections and insurance payments only. If your quote uses another base, tiered rates, or a minimum added on top of the percentage, ask for a sample invoice and compare it in the worksheet.
Check your slow months
Take Quote A again. In a month when you collect only $20,000, you still pay $2,300. That is 11.5% of what came in.
If you are opening a practice, this matters most. Ask each company:
- When does the minimum start?
- Is there a ramp-up period with a lower minimum?
- What do we owe if you start work before money comes in?
Then ask for a sample invoice at a slow month, a normal month, and a busy month.
A fee they did not mention is unknown. It is not zero. Get every line in writing before you compare.
7 questions to ask a podiatry billing service
Ask the proposed account team to explain its process and show you the current sources it uses. Record what is included, who owns the work, and what still needs written confirmation.
The Medicare examples below concern Original Medicare. National rules, the applicable contractor's policy, and the clinical record all matter; other insurers have their own requirements. These questions help you judge a proposal. They do not decide an individual claim.
1. "Do you assign the codes from our notes, or do we send you coded claims?"
Good answer: a clear answer about who assigns the codes. Then who asks the provider when a note is missing something.
Why it matters: "Coding" on a sales page can mean two jobs. One is picking the codes from the chart. The other is checking codes your office already picked. If your only coder just left, you need the first one.
2. "When does Medicare pay for a nail or callus visit, and which modifier goes on it?"
Good answer: routine foot care is generally excluded unless a coverage exception applies. One pathway involves a qualifying systemic condition and findings showing severe peripheral involvement. Diabetes alone does not establish coverage. Other pathways, including qualifying symptomatic mycotic-nail care, have different requirements.
A modifier is an add-on to a billing code. Where the applicable contractor requires class-finding modifiers, their meanings are:
| Modifier | Means |
|---|---|
| Q7 | One Class A finding |
| Q8 | Two Class B findings |
| Q9 | One Class B and two Class C findings |
These are not automatic additions to every nail or callus claim. Ask the biller which coverage pathway applies and which current contractor article it follows.
Active-care requirements and treatment frequency are separate checks. CMS's manual allows a contractor to regard the active-care requirement as met when an MD or DO evaluated or treated the complicating disease during the preceding six months. Check the applicable local instructions. Palmetto GBA's current routine-foot-care policy treats covered exceptions as medically necessary once in 60 days; that is not a national interval for all foot care.
Why it matters: Noridian's JE Part B review of callus code 11056 identifies missing records, insufficient medical-necessity documentation, and signature problems. Ask who resolves documentation gaps before submission.
Sources: CMS Medicare Benefit Policy Manual, Chapter 15, section 290; Palmetto LCD L37643 and billing article A56680; CGS article A57193.
3. "A Medicare patient wants a trim that is not covered. What happens?"
Good answer: first establish why it is not covered. For routine care excluded from Medicare's benefit, explain the charge. If a claim is submitted for a Medicare denial, GY identifies a statutory exclusion or a service outside the Medicare benefit. An Advance Beneficiary Notice of Noncoverage (ABN) is voluntary for services Medicare excludes by law.
An expected medical-necessity denial is different. The office must follow the applicable advance-notice and liability rules rather than assume that every denied charge becomes the patient's responsibility.
Then ask: "Does your percentage apply to these patient payments, and who explains the charge before treatment?" (CMS ABN booklet)
4. "What are G0245, G0246, and G0247 for?"
Good answer: these codes concern documented diabetic sensory neuropathy with loss of protective sensation (LOPS). G0245 is the initial evaluation, G0246 a follow-up evaluation, and G0247 the associated routine care. G0247 is considered for payment only with a payable G0245 or G0246 on the same date.
This specific benefit permits evaluation no more often than every six months, provided the patient has not seen a foot care specialist for another reason in the interval. It is not a six-month limit on all medically necessary foot care.
Why it matters: ask how the team distinguishes this benefit from other covered foot care and checks prior services. (CMS national coverage rule 70.2.1; Claims Processing Manual, Chapter 32, sections 80.2 and 80.8)
5. "Do you bill diabetic shoes, and who gets the claim?"
Good answer: therapeutic-shoe claims use the DME MAC process. A practice furnishing and billing the shoes must meet the applicable supplier-enrollment requirements. Therapeutic shoes are a separate Medicare Part B benefit.
Ask who obtains and checks these parts of the file:
- Order and supporting records. The order, diabetes and qualifying-foot-condition records, certification, and supplier records all matter. A signature alone does not complete the file.
- Certification and dates. The certifying MD or DO managing the diabetes has an in-person diabetes-management visit within six months before delivery. The certification is signed on or after that visit and within three months before delivery. The policy also defines supervised NP/PA arrangements. A podiatrist may prescribe the shoes but cannot be the certifying physician.
- Evaluation and delivery. The supplier documents an in-person evaluation before selecting the items and an objective fit assessment at delivery.
KX is used only when the policy's required coverage criteria are met. A claim line missing KX or an appropriate GA, GY, or GZ modifier is rejected for missing information. A biller must distinguish that problem from a coverage denial.
Why it matters: records may need to come from another practice or supplier. Ask who obtains them, checks their dates, and holds submission until the required file is complete. (CMS, Therapeutic Footwear; Therapeutic Shoes Policy Article A52501; CGS supplier chart)
6. "A visit and a minor procedure happen on the same day. Who decides if both get billed?"
Good answer: a qualified reviewer can explain what the note supports. Modifier 25 requires a significant, separately identifiable evaluation and management service beyond the work included in the minor procedure. A different diagnosis is not always required, and being a new patient does not by itself justify a separate visit charge.
Bad answer: "We add modifier 25 to all of those." Ask for the documentation review process instead. (CMS 2026 NCCI Policy Manual, Chapter I)
7. "Do we have to move to your software, who owns our data, and who works our old unpaid claims?"
Good answer: a straight answer now, and the same answer in the contract.
ADS says billing runs on its MedicsPremier platform, while an existing EHR can connect. Beacon, HRG, Medi Billing, and OmniMD describe working in or with outside systems. Confirm both your EHR and billing system.
One more if you do wound care
Ask: "How did Medicare's 2026 skin substitute change affect our claims?"
On January 1, 2026, Medicare changed payment for many covered sheet-form skin substitutes. They are paid separately as supplies, using a national policy rate of about $127 per square centimeter. The corrected 2026 rule states $127.14/cm², before physician-office geographic adjustments. Other product categories follow different rules. Ask the biller to explain the current payment and coverage requirements for your products and setting. A listed payment rate does not guarantee coverage. (2026 Physician Fee Schedule rule; October 2026 outpatient update)
Print the 7 questions and worksheet
What to get in writing before you sign
A sales call is not a contract. Get each of these on paper.
| Term | Ask this |
|---|---|
| Fee | What is the percentage or flat fee? What does it apply to? |
| Minimum | How much? When does it start? |
| Extra fees | Setup, software, clearinghouse, statements, credentialing. If it is free, write $0. |
| Scope | Which jobs are yours and which stay with us? Eligibility, authorizations, denials, appeals, patient calls. |
| Podiatry work | Are wound care, surgery, orthotics, and diabetic shoes in this quote? |
| Old unpaid claims | Do you work them? Which ones? For what fee? |
| Reports | What do we get, how often, and can we log in ourselves? |
| Length | How long is the term? Does it renew by itself? |
| Notice | How many days to cancel? |
| Leaving | Any fee to leave? Who finishes claims already sent? |
| Data | How do we get our data back? In what format? At what cost? |
| Privacy | A signed business associate agreement. HHS posts sample terms. |
Watch for soft wording. ADS, for example, says it files appeals when they are warranted. That may be fine. Just ask who decides.
How to switch billing companies without losing track of unpaid claims
Money can get lost in the gap between the old biller and the new one. Close the gap before you set a start date.
- Save your reports first. Pull your unpaid claims by age, your open denials, and your pending appeals. Do it before you give notice.
- Pick a cutoff date. Claims before that date belong to one team. Claims after belong to the other. Write it down.
- Decide who works the old claims. Name the team and the fee. Without an owner, claims can sit unworked.
- List every login. EHR, billing system, clearinghouse, each payer portal, and where payments get deposited.
- Choose who talks to patients. Assign statement responsibility so patients do not receive duplicate or conflicting bills.
- Agree on a 90-day report. Claims sent, denials by reason, and days to payment. Review it together each month.
Copy this proposal request
Send the same request to each company on your short list. Then you can compare answers line by line.
Fill in the brackets. Cut the lines that do not apply. Do not include patient names, records, or logins.
Copy the proposal request
Copy this template into your own document or email, then fill in the brackets. Leave out patient information and account credentials.
You can also select the text above and use your device's Copy command. The download works without JavaScript.
The worksheet gives you a blank grid to write each company's answers side by side.
Questions people ask
Is a podiatry-only billing company better?
We found no public data that settles it in the sources checked. A podiatry-only focus is a reason to ask about relevant experience. The label does not tell you if they code from notes, work your old claims, or know your software. Ask the 7 questions of every company, specialist or not.
We are a solo or brand-new practice. What should we watch?
The monthly minimum and required add-ons. When collections are low, the minimum may set the base fee before those extras. Use the calculator with a slow month. Also ask each company if it takes practices your size. Being on this list does not mean it does.
Will MedicalBillingSelect get quotes for us?
No. We compare what companies publish. You contact the company you choose, and it handles its own proposal and contract. How the site works.
I am a patient with a bill from a podiatrist. Can you help?
This page is for practices hiring a billing company. For a bill, call the billing number on your statement. For a coverage question, call the insurer on your explanation of benefits. If you have Medicare, start with Medicare's foot care page.
How we checked
We read each company's own service pages and the relevant pricing, FAQ, or terms pages on October 5, 2026. The table shows what those pages say. It does not show how well a company performs.
We did not use these services, request private quotes, or test their work. Medicare rules come from CMS and its contractors, linked next to each claim. The quotes in the cost example are made up to show the math.
Prices and terms change. If something here is out of date, tell us and send the source. Read more about how we compare companies.
Pick two or three companies. Send each the same request. Compare what comes back in writing.
Compare podiatry billing companies